Same Sex Marriages

Netherlands was the first country to recognize same sex marriages in 2001. Countries where same sex marriages are legal are

РNetherlands (2001)

– Belgium (2003)

– Spain (2005)

– Canada (2005)

– South Africa (2006)

– Norway (2009)

– Sweden (2009)

– Portugal (2010)

– Iceland (2010)

– Argentina (2010)



In the United States of America, the federal government does not recognize it, but 6 states (New York, Massachusetts, Iowa, New Hampshire, Connecticut, Vermont ) allow same sex marriages . Even though Mexico recognizes same sex marriages, it is only performed in Mexico City.


In India, same sex marriages are not legal; but the Delhi high court on July 2, 2009 decriminalized homosexuality by judging that the draconian Section 377 (which criminalized homosexuality) of the Indian Penal Code violated fundamental rights. The Indian government too is inclined to provide greater freedom to the Lesbian-Gay-Bisexual-Transgender (LGBT) community.



Close Menu